Aidi

• Our research falls within a field that has so far been little investigated, and never in a systematic manner. Therefore, it may open up new research perspectives in literary historiography. For the purpose, we have created an Online archive of Italian dedications (AIDI), which offers scholars, researchers and other people who may be interested in the subject a data base in continuous growth. Documents that are not always easily retrievable are thus collected in an ideal library, and the use of new technologies guarantees immediate access to them.

• The Online Archive of the Italian dedication AIDI provides access to a corpus of dedications in continuous growth. By collecting materials that are dispersed and little known, the Online Archive enables to conduct a broad historical and morphological survey over the genre of the dedication. The Online Archive is conceived to continue to be expanded and integrated also after the termination of the project. A first specimen has been available online since the summer of 2004. Access to AIDI is free, but requires registration.

• Each dedication is accompanied by a photograph of the original edition (together with the cover page and portraits if available), a transcription of the text that can be interrogated electronically, and a short ‘anagraphic' file. Significant information grouped under relevant headings can be searched electronically via research parameters that can be freely combined according to the user's needs: year and place of publication, genre, language and type of the dedication, occasion and date, identity and typology of the dedicator or dedicatee, relationship between the relevant characters, and so on.

• The corpus has been collected according to the following modes and restrictions: besides dedications in Italian, the archive includes dedications in other languages as long as the author of the work (or of the translation) is Italian. In cases of particular cultural relevance dedications by typographers, printers and editors have also been included. Even though literary works predominate, historical and philosophical works, theatrical and musical pieces as well as scientific and critical texts have also been included. Initially, the Online Archive will only include dedications of works published after the invention of print. An index that is being progressively updated offers a precise mapping of the authors and texts that have already been inserted into the database.

• We have so far privileged specimen that are both representative and very different from each other. Our purpose has been to build a model that may include as many typological variants of the genre as possible, depending on the specificities, as well as the chronological and cultural context of the dedicated work.

• AIDI is conceived to be progressively expanded and integrated: suggestions and additions are more than welcome Dedicafn-Italianistica@unibas.ch.

Registration

• Access to AIDI is free, but requires registration.

• You can contribute to enrich the Archive as an external collaborator. -> Form for collaborators.

Home

Aidi

• Notre recherche, consacrée à un domaine peu étudié jusqu'à présent et jamais de manière systématique, peut ouvrir de nouvelles voies d'études et de recherche dans le camp de l'histoire littéraire. Dans cet esprit, nous avons prévu de créer des archives informatiques de la dédicace italienne, accessibles en ligne (AIDI), qui mettent à disposition de chercheurs, et d'autres personnes intéressées, une base de données en croissance continue. L'application de nouvelles technologies permet ainsi l'accès à un nombre croissant de documents autrement difficilement accessibles, en les réunissant dans une "bibliothèque" idéale de consultation.

• Les Archives informatiques de la dédicace italienne, AIDI, mettent à disposition à toutes les personnes intéressées un corpus en croissance continue. Elles réunissent des matériaux encore dispersées ou peu connus et permettent ainsi de larges recherches historiques et morphologiques de ce genre de textes. Un premier noyau est disponible sur le web depuis l'été 2004. L'accès à AIDI est gratuit, il suffit de s'y inscrire.

• Chaque dédicace est illustrée par une reproduction photographique de l'édition originale (avec le frontispice de l'ouvre et avec d'éventuels portraits), une transcription intégrale et fidèle et par une fiche synthétique. Les principales informations sont organisées en groupes homogènes pour permettre la recherche électronique. Celle-ci peut se faire d'après plusieurs paramètres, que l'on peut combiner librement au gré des intérêts et des exigences : lieu et année d'édition, genre de l'ouvre, langue et forme de la dédicace, occasion et date, identité ou typologie du dédicateur ou du dédicataire, relations entre les deux personnages, et ainsi de suite.

• Pour l'établissement du corpus, nous avons suivis certaines modalités et respecté quelques restrictions : outre les dédicaces en italien, nous avons aussi accueilli dans les archives des dédicaces en d'autres langues, à condition que l'auteur de l'ouvre ou de la traduction soit italien. Dans certains cas particuliers d'importance culturelle, nous avons accueilli également des dédicaces de typographes et d'éditeurs. Malgré une prépondérance d'ouvres littéraires au sens étroit du terme, des ouvres historiques et philosophiques, des textes théâtraux, musicaux, scientifiques et critiques ont également été pris en considération. Dans une première phase, les archives contiendront uniquement des dédicaces d'ouvres postérieures à l'invention de l'imprimerie. Un index mis à jour progressivement permet de savoir à tout moment quels sont les auteurs et les textes qui y sont contenus.

• Jusqu'à présent, nous avons travaillé sur quelques cas exemplaires bien distincts pour essayer de prévoir les variantes typologiques possibles dues au genre de l'ouvre à laquelle est rattachée la dédicace, à sa collocation chronologique et au domaine culturel dont elle relève.

• AIDI est conçu pour être en expansion progressive : des suggestions, ainsi que des compléments sont plus que bienvenus Dedicafn-Italianistica@unibas.ch.

Inscription

• L'accès à AIDI est gratuit, il suffit de s'y inscrire.

• Il est possible de participer au développement des archives en tant que collaborateur externe -> Fiche pour collaborateurs.

Home